Friday, December 30, 2005

And the (Other) Winners Are...

The final slate of Andrew Sullivan award winners was announced today.

The Begala Award, given to "lefties who deploy personal abuse and bitter hyperbole," was almost taken by Michael Moore, namesake of another Sullivan Award. Atrios also got a nod for a particularly bitter attack against Thomas Friedman. The winners, however, were Jerry and Joe Long of the Huffington Post, who took the honors because of this particularly crass statement:
The religious right's position on embryonic stem cell research is clear: consign Alzheimer's and Parkinson's sufferers to death on the off chance that a blastocyst will crawl out of the garbage pail to work the breakfast shift at Burger King.
The Yglesias Award, created to honor writers "who actually risk something in alienating their own readers, and challenging their own side in political combat," is a Sullivan Award you might actually want to win. Brad DeLong almost won it for his hilariously backhanded apologia for Bill Bennett, but the award ultimately went to Andy Ferguson at the Weekly Standard who pilloried his fellow conservatives thusly:
Most conservative books are pseudo-books: ghostwritten pastiches whose primary purpose seems to be the photo of the "author" on the cover. What a tumble! From 'The Conservative Mind' to 'Savage Nation'; from Clifton White to Dick Morris; from Willmoore Kendall and Harry Jaffa to Sean Hannity and Mark Fuhrman - all in little more than a generation's time. Whatever this is, it isn't progress.
Finally, even though the Derbyshire Award for "neanderthal bigotry from the right" has been supplanted by the Malkin Award, Sullivan dredged it up just so its namesake wouldn't go home empty-handed. The National Review paleocon takes home his own award for a lovely little bit on how soldiers should treat "commie" journalists in Iraq: Shoot to kill. And that from a journalist. It's a wonderful world.
Listed on BlogShares